Uncategorized

What would YOU give up?


As I was lying in bed last night I got to thinking…(usually this means I won’t be falling asleep for a long time).  It’s a good thing. 🙂 Anyways, I started thinking about what I would give up to follow Jesus. I then looked over to see my handsome and wonderful husband reading.  Tears came to my eyes and I was reminded to what he gave up. We started to pray and as we were praying a tear fell down his face. (rare) After the prayer he looked and me and said how thankful he was that God brought him a new family.  He went on to share that he looked forward to having his first child because it would be the first time in 7 years that he hugged someone that was blood related.  My heart felt so much at that moment.  I have always known that he gave up his family, but it never really sunk in until that moment what it really meant.  I am so proud of him and am inspired to be like him.  He is my role model. He then smiled big and said, “Christie, YOU are my family and I wouldn’t have it any other way.”  Anyways I just wanted to share this as an encouragement to you.  It’s made me think a lot… I sometimes doubt my faith seeing as though I seem to “sweat” even the smallest of things.  My mind is often consumed with how I look, what clothes I am wearing, and how much money I have saved.  I hate to say it, but my mind is SO NOT focused on what it should be.  This is a challenge to myself to get my mind back focused on the only thing that truly matters…Christ!

One thought on “What would YOU give up?

  1. Jabar:

    Is an awesome man of god, that I look up to. He had taught me a lot about loving God through giving up the things of this world.

    I miss the both of you, and I hope that things are going well.

    Best wishes.

    Jonathan Werkmeister

Leave a Reply

