SPIRITUAL

Living for a Legacy


Image

This week at our Bible Study we were asked what kind of legacy we want to leave. If people only had one thing to say about you after you passed away, what would you want them to say? It really made me think a lot. Β Of course I would hope people had good things to say about me. I hope that I am a good wife, mom, sister, friend, daughter, etc, but do I really live my life in a way that I want people to remember?

I started thinking about all the things I focus on all too often. I can admit that I seem to always be checking the scale in the morning to see if I have lost any weight. Every time I look in the mirror I ask myself am I pretty enough? skinny enough? good enough? I spend countless amount of hours working out and counting calories in order to achieve what I THINK I should like. Funny thing is, as soon as I reach a goal, it’s not good enough. I then have to set an even higher goal. I realized yesterday that people don’t care how much I weigh. When I die people are not going to comment on how much I weighed…but rather on how I treated people. I believe that it is important to take care of our bodies, but being obsessive about our looks is pointless.

I wished that my first thoughts in the morning were focused on others. What if instead of wasting time critiquing myself, I spent that time doing something nice for someone such as making breakfast for a friend or writing my husband an encouraging note. What if I focused on the things that will truly leave a legacy. Β When I die all that truly matters is that I loved God and that I loved others.

I also started thinking about how I spend my money. How often do I spend money on things for myself like new clothes, shoes, and make-up?. Now don’t get me wrong, its okay to buy the things you need, but how often do you buy things you don’t need? Each time I buy something I should think about why I am buying it? Am I trying to look better? Am I trying to fit in? Is this really going to benefit me in the long run? Every person who truly loves me, loves me whether I am wearing a $10 outfit or a $100 outfit. If people only like me when I am skinny and wearing the latest fashions…then I probably am hanging out with the wrong crowd.

So what is getting in the way of YOU leaving a lasting legacy? Do you focus all your attention on making money while ignoring the people closest to you? Are you so focused on being liked that you will do anything including making bad decisions or hurting others along the way? What is it? When you die people will remember you for one thing…how you treated others. Live you life in a way that puts others before yourself. Spend time with the ones you love and pour yourself into loving others. You could change people’s lives with your kindness. I can tell you one thing for sure, you won’t change other people’s lives by being skinny or having a nice car. Use the resources God has given YOU to leave a legacy that will last forever.

Hope you have a fabulous day!

p.s. Don’t put yourself down today! You are awesome!

Image

2 thoughts on “Living for a Legacy

Leave a Reply

