CHRISTMAS / HEALTH

Best Year Yet!


This year has been AMAZING!!! I can’t believe that in less than 2 days it will be the year 2014. I am so blessed by all that God has given to me and I am SO excited for another year. I hope that everyone had a Merry Christmas. I know we had so much fun. I took a week off from blogging so I will do a quick re cap of the last week…

Jaber was supposed to fly into Chicago on Monday the 23rd but his flight was delayed 6 times and then cancelled until the following day. He said the airport was a mad house and everyone was so upset. Jaber actually apologized to the pilot because he felt bad for him. It turns out that something was wrong with the plane. I am actually grateful they cancelled it because I wouldn’t want my husband on a broken plane. I was sad to wait another day, but before I knew it he was here! He arrived on Christmas Eve around 4 pm and I felt like I hadn’t seen him in forever. I was so giddy and happy to see my man! Afterwards we headed to our annual Red Lobster Dinner with the family. We have gone there every year since after my grandpa died in 2001. It was his FAVORITE place to eat. After we came home and opened some presents πŸ™‚

I had a BIG surprise for Jaber. He has wanted a new computer/tablet for a long time, but we held off in order to save some money. We decided to not exchange presents this year so Jaber wasn’t expecting anything. I told him that I had bought a few presents for Zane to open. I had Jaber help Zane open his gifts, but little did he know that the last gift for Zane was actually a gift for him. He was so SHOCKED to see the new HDX Kindle Fire! He was so excited…but I think I was even more excited than he was. I looked forward to him opening that gift for a long time and I was surprised that I actually kept it a secret. Giving truly is better than receiving!!

Christmas morning came and we celebrated ALL day long! My mom and dad went all out on preparing the best food for us. My dad grilled up the best steaks and mom made some wonderful dishes to go a long with it. My brothers chowed down on the extra jumbo shrimp and deviled eggs! We played lots of games and enjoyed a day to just be home together. Zaner LOVED his first Christmas.

Image

The rest of the week was a complete joy! We had lots of opportunities to meet with old friends and spend time as a family. We went and saw the new Hobbit movie and we enjoyed a homemade Lebanese meal from some of our dear Church friends. I am SO thankful to have had the chance to come back to Chicago!

SO…on to the new year. I have always LOVED New Years Eve (even though the last 4 years I fell asleep before midnight). I love getting together with friends to celebrate. I also love the fact that its a new year. With a new year, comes a fresh start. I have always been a fan of New Years Resolutions (or goals). In the past I have gone without pop for a year…and for those of you who don’t know what pop is… its a coke or soda as some of you call it. I also have accomplished goals of reading the bible in a year and getting straight A’s. Β This year I have three potential goals and I am not sure which one I will do. I don’t like setting goals unless I know that I will keep them. Here are my three possibilities and I want you to help me pick:

  1. No Starbucks (or any other coffee shop) for a year. This would be so hard for me. I would rather go to a coffee shop anyday over going out to eat, to the movies, etc. I know this would be a great way to save money.
  2. No high glycemic foods for a year. High glycemic foods are the carbohydrates that spike your blood sugar. Spiked blood sugar leads to higher levels of insulin. Higher levels of insulin lead to weight gain and decreased energy. Foods that I would have to avoid would be white flour, breads, cereals, desserts, and most processed foods. This would be extremely difficult seeing as how much I love my desserts. πŸ™‚
  3. No pop for a year. This would be the easiest one for me, yet still a challenge. I love Diet Coke…

I know that I can accomplish anything that I put my mind to. I love challenges because it forces me to be more disciplined. I also like choosing goals that better myself. So what is YOUR New Years Resolution going to be?? Think of something that can either better yourself or help those that you love. I heard of one great goal the other day…you save a 1 dollar the first week, 2 dollars the second week, etc. until you reach 52 weeks. If you do this you will have over $1300 dollars saved by the end πŸ™‚

Anyways, I hope that all of you have the best New Years Ever. Live the Life to the fullest!

Here is a short recap of my last few years:Β https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4o-R6pZXBgM

Love to Love,

Christie

4 thoughts on “Best Year Yet!

  1. I think if you are trying to lose weight, then choose #2. If you want just a healthy change then choose #3. If you are LDS then choose #1 πŸ˜‰ Happy New Year! Glad you had a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

