HONEST CONFESSIONS

Those Close Minded Christians…


dont judge me

Have you ever been labeled a hater, judgmental, close minded, or intolerant for simply having your own personal beliefs? I have been so frustrated lately by the amount of people being patronized when simply answering questions about their beliefs. If you ask a person a question and you want them to respond honestly…it’s unreasonable to get mad at them for their response unless they respond in a way that is unkind (which I realize happens all too often and for that I am sorry.) Simply stating your belief  though, is not wrong. Each person should be able to have that freedom without being labeled negatively.

If a person believes that God intended marriage to be between a man and a woman…that alone does not mean they HATE those who believe differently. They believe that way because of their own personal convictions. As a Bible believing Christ follower, I have developed most of my beliefs and convictions from reading my Bible.  I very much believe in God and I 100% believe that what the Bible says is true and I feel convicted to follow it. I realize that people interpret the Bible differently.   I also realize you can’t expect everyone to view it the same as you do. It’s important to allow people to develop their own conclusions. So if you believe that homosexuality is permissible…I want you to know that I believe you have every right to believe so. I also would like the right to believe differently as well. I have realized that no matter how nicely I state my beliefs I am always labeled terrible things and it drives me crazy. I would ask that you take a look at the following hypocrisies that are all too often said when stating your beliefs. It’s important to allow the opposing side to have their beliefs just as much as it is for you to have yours. I would like to be able to have my beliefs about marriage without being labeled a close minded gay hater. Here are a few hypocrisies that have been said to me when I share my beliefs about different topics.

HYPOCRISIES

“”You are JUDGING me!”

(You now are judging me that I am judging you.)

“Don’t tell me how to live my life!”

(You are now telling me how live mine.)

“You are so close minded…”

(Wouldn’t that make you close minded as well for not being open to my beliefs?)

“You are such a hater.”

(You are now hating on me.)

You have NO right to share your opinions

(That’s an opinion…)

“You are incredibly intolerant.”

(You aren’t tolerant of my beliefs.)

“You can’t share your beliefs. It offends people.”

(You are offending me now while sharing your beliefs.)

Even though I hope that someday people would quit saying these hypocrisies…I have to realize that most likely they will not.  Because of my beliefs, I will always be labeled these things by some.  Today in life we have a double standard. For some groups of people they are able to freely share their opinions and if anyone disagrees with them they are suddenly treated as a victim and people jump to defend them. The opposing group, however, is labeled the list above…

The bottom line is that for a certain groups of people, unless you agree with them, you WILL always be labeled as judgmental and close minded.

To those labeled these things for having your beliefs… take heart, be kind, and be sure to share your beliefs in a loving way that is honorable. AND always remember…

“If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated ME first.” -John 15:18

world hates you

Love to Love,

Christie

 

21 thoughts on “Those Close Minded Christians…

  1. You have written a much better response than I ever could to those who think being a Christian or conservative means you are racist or homophobic or just plane crazy. Thank you for a great posting..

  2. Hi Christie, I agree with what you are saying. I also think it’s a two-way street. We Christians too often shove our opinions onto others without giving them the respect they are due for having differing opinions. Case in point: bumper stickers on “Christian cars” that say, “What part of Thou Shalt Not Kill do you not understand???” Like believing that abortion is ok is nothing short of stupid. (A person who is ok with abortion could respond to that bumper sticker with “What part of Mind Your Own Business do you not understand?”) As a Christ follower, I am ashamed when I see Christians treating others with this kind of harsh judgment.

    Jesus said, “He who is without sin cast the first stone.” And then, even tho HE was without sin, He did not cast a stone. He did not condemn. We could learn something from that.

    Love your blog!

  3. Dear Christie,

    I enjoy your blog and do believe that many of your posts are thought-provoking and well intentioned. Above all, I agree with your sentiments that we should all be entitled to our opinions without fear of retribution or verbal attacks beyond constructive dialogue. In what follows, I hope you won’t perceive my tone or strength of opinion to be any of the former, for that is surely not my intent.

    The post that you have shared here–highlighting hypocrisies and defending your beliefs–is perfectly sound in its logic on the surface. But it is my opinion that sentiments like these fail completely on fronts where Christians should be most in tune: sympathy, empathy, and understanding. Namely, the “hypocrisies” you state here do not occur in some type of social vacuum where true equality abounds. Rather our identify as CHRISTIANS, and likewise the identity of individuals/families as LGBT, occurs in the context of a country that still continues to be predominantly run by Christian, white, heterosexual men. Thus the nature of the hypocrisies you state, while comparable on the surface, have very different consequences for both parties involved. If we as Christians get “persecuted” for our beliefs, where does that leave us? Minus whatever small detriment to our pride or dignity, we still hold membership to the dominant religious ideology of this country, a religion that has very real power and high ranking institutions across the county (See “Faith in the Halls of Power” by Michael Lindsay). In contrast, LGBT families find themselves having to face the consequences and everyday reality of not being recognized with even the SAME RIGHTS afforded to their fellow Americans.

    My simple argument and hope is this: that we could recognize that “hypocrisy” in its consequences means two very different things dependent on the context in which the issue at hand is situated. A (hypothetical) tax of 25k means two completely different things for the family that makes 50k as opposed to 100k. To expect a uniform receptiveness to such a tax merely because it is applied consistently for everyone would be ridiculous. In the same way, I hope that we as Christians can begin to situate our religion in this country to the accurate social context of power and influence in which it is situated.

    SHK

    • I agree that context is extremely important. But I think why this is such a hot topic is because the American context has changed. Christendom has given way to post-Christendom. There is still feeling that Christians are the dominant culture, but that ship has sailed in recent decades. So, many Christians are trying to figure out how to live out their faith as a minority (sometimes discriminated against) culture. Unfortunately, some have reacted poorly to this shift and want to fight, complain, name-call, etc.

      Personally, I think once we adjust, the church will be better off as the minority. History has shown that God’s people rarely do well with power.

      My point here, though, is to acknowledge that Christianity is not the dominant culture in America. Sociologists and theologians almost universally agree on this point. Yet, many people in the general public still hold to the notion that we are living in a Christendom context. As someone who understands the importance of context, I thought this was an important point to make.

      (I recommend “Resident Aliens” by Stanley Hauwerwas for further study)

      • “Yet, many people in the general public still hold to the notion that we are living in a Christendom context”

        It’s because we still do live in a Christendom context. Religious beliefs as held by the general population (which do show declines in Protestantism and especially catholicism) and the influence of Christianity in institutions such as media and politics are two completely things. The decline in religiosity you rightfully cite is driven in large part by America’s youth— individuals who have yet to enter America’s “halls of power.” This is slowly beginning to change, but let’s not confuse these distinctions as one and the same.

  4. As a Christian in high school, it’s very annoying how many people give me disgusted looks when I’m open (meaning that I’ve stated my religious beliefs) about my religion. Thank you so much for writing this.

  5. Exactly! That’s why I usually ask people three times if they really want to hear my opinion and after the third time, they usually ask why I’m asking them. My response? “Well, I don’t sugarcoat anything just because you want to hear it. You ask, I tell. If you don’t want to hear it, don’t ask.”

  6. I have a post very similar in my drafts that I typed up today. Thank you SO much for drawing attention to this issue. Well written.

  7. Great post Christie – thanks for taking a swing at a rather controversial subject these days. I agree it’s important not to judge each other, but rather let Biblical teachings guide our ways.

Leave a Reply

